1. [ noun ] (government,geography) the sacred city of Lamaism; known as the Forbidden City for its former inaccessibility and hostility to strangers
Synonyms: Lassa capital_of_Tibet Lhasa
Related terms: national_capital Tibet
2. [ noun ] (geography) a walled section of Beijing that encloses the Imperial Palace that was formerly the residence of the emperor of China
Related terms: section Beijing
Similar spelling:   forbidden_fruit